A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

NEWBIE GETTING NERVOUS - Hlengelsman

Posted: Aug 29, 2010

I'm new to the profession and new to the boards. I am here just trying to get a feel for the real world in transcription. I have to say the few things I have read on here so far are making me very nervous. I am just finishing my course within the next month or two through Penn Foster so the search for a job is in my near future...

These are a few things I am curious about: 

Is the MT job market really that bad?

What advice can you give me as a new MT?

Have any of you MT's out there gone straight from studies to doing transcription from home or have you all had to work in some type of medical office first?  

newbie - Pat46

[ In Reply To ..]
My suggestion to anyone starting out in transcription is to get a job in a clinic or hospital first before you try doing it from home. I know I could not have done home transcription fresh out of college. I got a clinic job at Carle Clinic in Urbana, Illinois. I am now working at Graham Hospital here in Canton where I live FROM HOME. More and more hospitals are sending their transcriptionists home. We have just added VR and our pay didn't get cut like it does with the big companies. No one ever explained to me why that is. Just because you are faster doesn't mean that we don't have to have the medical terminology, anatomy, etc. In fact you will probably use those more doing VR than typing as the machine can put in some of the darndest things...sometimes not even related to the report.

Good luck. I hope you find a job. I have been in transcription for the last 25 years and have found it a very enjoyable career. I always said that even if I didn't use by degree it was something no one can take away from me and when my kids were sick and I had to take them to the doctor I know what he was talking about.

Thank you - Hlengelsman

[ In Reply To ..]