A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

MT School - Sally

Posted: Mar 08, 2010

Does anyone know a good MT school course? There are so many of them out, but not sure which ones are worth trying. TIA.

Andrews, M-TEC, and Career Step are in the top 3, I believe...sm - sosmt

[ In Reply To ..]
I went to Andrews 10 years ago and had a job before I graduated. They are expensive, but you get what you pay for, IMO.

M-TEC not so much anymore, changed owner, curriculum and tuition . - Andrews

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

I agree Andrews is a better choice now, but M-Tec grads are still getting jobs - n/m

[ In Reply To ..]
n/m

MTEC and Andrews comparison - Typin_away

[ In Reply To ..]
I listed this above with my discussion on MTEC but I thought that it may help future students look at the differences between Andrews and MTEC when they are searching about schools.

In my opinion they are both great schools.

Andrews offers 8 reference books.
MTEC offers 16 reference books.

Andrews - 2122 minutes of dictation with an optional 1500 minutes of dictation.
MTEC - 2425 minutes of dictation with an optional 1000 minutes of dictation.

Both use the SUM program. I believe both allow you access to an instructor.

So the additional $1175 at MTEC would be for the webinar classrooms and the other 8 reference books.

The dictation minutes are slightly more for the graded portion of the program at MTEC but if a student wanted to do some optional dictations they could make that up at Andrews.

MTEC program is now 12 months and Andrews is 18 months.

So that is the differences in a nutshell.

MT Course - Trollbaby

[ In Reply To ..]
Allstate Transcription has the best AIM course out there. Do not pay thousands of dollars for these other courses. This company will teach you what you need to know. Good Luck!

I've never heard anyone (but you) say anything good about them. NM - deb

[ In Reply To ..]
x

I would be careful with Allstate - Old MTSO