A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

per word editing rate? - mc

Posted: Jun 24, 2010

I am being offered an editing job, and the company wants to know what my per-word rate would be for editing. I've never done per word before, so I'm wondering what a reasonable rate would be? Help! I don't want to undersell myself, but I don't want to give out a totally unreasonable amount. Thanks in advance! Smile

What I would do - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Pull in a report/document that you have done (if you're currently working) into Word. Check the line count with spaces and divide by the per line rate you would want. See how much money you would make off that document. Then divide that amount by the word count, it should give you a ball park figure of how much per word would make it equal to the line rate you want.

For example, I just pulled in a small GI consult I just typed. Total characters with spaces was 1196 divided by 65 = 18.4 lines x .045 (editing line rate) = $0.828

$0.828 divided by 182 total words = $0.0045

Line rate for editing at 0.045 = $0.828 for the document
Word rate at 0.0045 = 0.828 for the document.
Line rate for typing at 0.09 = 1.65 for the total document

This is assuming you would accept 4.5 cents per line for editing, you can put in whatever line rate you would want.

Again, this is just a small GI consult, so if you were doing something that used smaller words you would get more money, or something with longer words, you would get less money, it just depends on the terminology the doc uses, etc.

thank you! - mc

[ In Reply To ..]
sm - much appreciated & thank you! That method makes sense. :)

Wow! Why so complicated? - huh ?

[ In Reply To ..]
Your calculations are so complicated that I could not even check if your calculations are right and now you still do not post how much she can charge for 1 word editing.

My way: