A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

looking into career change from MT - mt

Posted: Jul 10, 2012

I've been doing medical transcription for 17 years now.  It used to be a good field to get into and good pay, but as the medical transcription field seems to be slowly phasing out and it's getting harder to make a decent living as we are getting lower wages and less work, I've been thinking about going back to school and getting a bachelor's in health informatation managment or administration.  I already have an assosciate's degree, but I would like to know what kind of job/career I could get w/this degree and approximate salary range.  Thanks for your input.

I went back to school for health administration - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I also was thinking about bachelor's in health information management and health administration. I decided on health admin and then I could get my masters in health admin and have endless possibilities. The health information management degree focuses more on EHR and healthcare and technology. If you go that route, I recommend going into healthcare informatics. Good jobs, good pay, but maybe a little hard to get in to as I see a lot of those jobs require a lot of technology experience. There are quite a few programs all online for both of these degrees, but make sure you go with an accredited program through CAHIIM (if you go with health information degree).

My advice is to learn a specific career, not a vague general category - Hope this makes sense

[ In Reply To ..]
I think that as bad as things are, and I think we'll be in a depression, not just a recession, before long, get into a specific career. My advice is not to study a general category, but learn the skills related to a specific job title. There are too many people studying general HIM, hoping to 'get into management', but there aren't that many management positions.