A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

U Show Me Yours I'll Show U Mine - What is my future like

Posted: Mar 11, 2011

Okay, I'm new so I am not making much yet. Can we all just make a post saying how many hours we work, what we gross, how long you've been transcribing, and whether it is vr or st? Don't name your company.  This way we can guage what we can expect to be making down the line.

I've been transcribing for 2 months. This week  I worked 37 hours and grossed $259.00 and it was 90% VR.

oy! - ICManiac

[ In Reply To ..]
Just as fair warning, this thread could turn into one of those where everyone says everyone else is boasting. The biggest thing to remember is that what I do now in 2011 may not net you the same wage in another 20 years (the amount of my experience in MT). There are so many factors from one set up to another, one MT to another, and with the way the industry is downturning, well, the money just won't be the same (most likely).

I do straight transcription, worked 6-1/2 hours yesterday and grossed $212. I don't care to share my weekly pay, but the number of hours I worked is about average for any given day.

So old, my abacus no longer calculates - GGM

[ In Reply To ..]

You stated you were new, so this is just advice, not criticism, and certainly not to discourage you.  Everyone (in any job, any profession) starts out at the bottom, and most are able to climb their way to a living wage within a reasonable period of time.  Your speed will improve and your income (hopefully) will also.  

You appear to be making less than minimum wage.  If you are an Employee, make sure they are paying you at least the minimum wage in your State (Federal minimum is $7.25 per hour, but a few States have a higher minimum wage).  

If you are an Independent Contractor, please make sure you know all the IRS rules and regulations so you do not get into trouble with them at the end of the year.