A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Long term health risks of Medical Transcription? - Neesy

Posted: Jul 10, 2012

I am a Canadian medical transcriptionist. I have been doing this job for seven years now and I really enjoy it. The thing is though is that I used to be in the military for 21 years and went to the gym every day. I had a much more active job. So I do find that after seven years of sitting down for 8 hours per day that I have put on about 20 lbs. I started going back to the gym after work as we have one at this hospital. It only opened a couple of years ago. What do others think about this? Do you think sitting for long periods is bad for your long term health?

I think it is pretty much proven now that - sitting for long periods is not

[ In Reply To ..]
conducive to great health. The good news is just taking short breaks standing up helps counter the bad effects. In fact, the other day I heard something on the radio about how stand-up desks are now becoming popular, so maybe we could fix up something like that for at least part of our work day.

I tried that; it didn't work for me - sadMT

[ In Reply To ..]
I bought an adjustable desk because I got tired of sitting all day. You push a button to raise and lower the height. The problem was the foot pedal. After a few minutes of basically standing on one foot while the other one worked the pedal, my foot got sore and I went back to sitting. That desk is now in storage in the spare room until I figure out what to do with it.

As for the weight gain, yes, I've had that problem, too. I've gained 1-2 pounds per year since I've been transcribing. Doesn't sound like much, but after a dozen years of this it's really starting to become a problem (and now menopause isn't helping!). Time for me to get busy and since I seem to be always running out of work lately, it looks like I actually do have time to work out!

Here is a link for some info - noner

[ In Reply To ..]