A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How do you make ends meet? - tired

Posted: Nov 05, 2011

I have been transcribing for over 26 years and now I can't even make ends meet.  Does anyone else have the problem of having to be a workaholic or not be able to survive financially?  PLEASE give me any hints that have helped you out.  I'm tired and frustrated.  Thanks!

I can't make ends meet, which is why - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I am going back to college to get a degree that is useful and will help me be gainfully employed. MT was an awesome job years ago, now it's awful.

Me too. I'm the one who posted above as... - Always looking for more work! nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

If I get out of debt, I will be able to make ends meet. - thatismygoal

[ In Reply To ..]
This time next year, I will be debt free with a good income if I keep at it like I am doing now.

Same problem here. It seems like the harder I work, - the less money I make. (sm) Pro-Occupy

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been treading water by withdrawing whatever I was short each pay period from my savings account. Savings will be gone in about 2 more years, then I really don't know what I'm going to do. I keep hoping I'll find a better job, but after 3 years of looking and applying, so far no takers yet. I'm also getting by with accepting handouts from my mom and siblings. I'm getting used to going hungry once in a while, when the cupboards go bare before the paycheck comes in. I've been doing a little sewing on the side for extra money, but it's not a lot, and it's hard to find enough time to sew, when I spend most of my time transcribing, mainly to keep my insurance. I feel like a slave to my HMO.

I'm doing fine now but about 45 years ago I had that problem - sm

[ In Reply To ..]