A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Any tips for increasing motivation/production? - Saugust

Posted: Nov 15, 2010

I'm not sure if I'm burned out on MT as a whole (I don't think I am), just my current MTSO, or if I've got some component of ADD.  Whatever it is, I need to get out of this slump.  Increasing production just because I need the money doesn't seem to be a motivator. 

I've been doing this for 21 years now.  I've always been a little distractible, but it seems to be getting worse. 

Does anyone have any tips or tricks for improving their production (when the work is available that is), especially when the dictators want to make you throw in the towel?  Maybe I'm too focused on quality over quantity, but the few times I've tried to just go "OK, screw it.  I'm not trying to make sense of your gobbledygook sentences anymore.  You're getting what you say, word for word" my conscience just won't let me. 

Reading that some MTs are doing 350+ lines an hour on straight transcription just astounds me.  What am I doing wrong that an outstanding day, for me, is maybe 250 an hour?  Unless it's a "please pull up the last report and I'll make changes as we go" dictation, I've been lucky to put out 150 lately. 

Pulling up normals seems to be a joke most of the time.  What one person adds as a normal is far from what the dictator is actually saying.  Bolding won't be turned off after the heading, so you start typing, see it's bolded, then have to go back and fix it.  Some of what's included is even a direct contradiction of the account specifics.  And these are ones that have been added by the MTSO office staff. 

I'm not bitter.  I'm thankful to have a job right now, as frustrating as it can be sometimes.  I just want to be more productive, for my own sake as well as for the patients. 

I agree - cll

[ In Reply To ..]