A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Salary increase expectations after getting CPC, CCS credentials - your experiences please

Posted: Feb 03, 2013

I just landed an entry-level position as a hospital outpatient coder!  Yay!  It is a foot in the door towards my new career.  After I sit for and get my credentials (I have 0 experience in this field), I plan on giving my passing credentials to my HIM director and to HR.  Is it appropriate to ask HR when I do my hiring paperwork/orientation what salary increases are given for credentials and per credential?  I am not really sure that is the right time or place to discuss this, or even if it should come up at all until the credentials are there.  They are aware that I am a student and that I will be taking my exams in 2-3 months. 

What is appropriate?  What should I expect as a salary increase per credential (if anything at all)?  I look forward to your advice.  Thank you.

How the in the world did you get this job?! - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I have my RHIT credentials, have a lot of billing experience, but cannot find a job as a coder to save my life! How did you get this job? Congratulations - this is wonderful!!!

Suggestion - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I know your situation must be frustrating! There are often unseen factors driving hiring decisions. I don't AGREE with them, but I can share them with you. Please do not become angry or offended with me ... I just want to help see what managers might think so you can take corrective action. Color your image differently, in other words.

I am not making this up, either. Nor does it reflect the thinking of ALL HIM managers.

The RHIT is not a "mastery level" credential. It is entry level .. a generalist credential. That comes straight from the AHIMA website. The CCS and CCS-P are mastery level credentials in coding.

I know this might not be what your program told you, but ... there it is.