A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Expectations for QA. - Lauralea

Posted: Jul 26, 2013

Does anyone know the expectations for QAs? Like, are they required to produce a certain amount? How are they paid? Hourly, salary, or per production? Is their quality checked like MLS's are? How often? How long are they allowed/recommended to spend on each blank (I was told by my supervisor to spend no more than 5-7 minutes researching a blank and, if not researchable, 3 listens per blank before moving on. If I go over MY allowed variance hours, I'm told I'm spending too much time researching).

Here's where I'm going with this: I've been transcribing for 17 years yet I have these younger QAs filling in a large number of my blanks (thus banging me with these 0.25 point deductions in Fiesa) and catching my "mistakes." Are they spending a lot more time on these reports than me or do they have super-hearing?

If you're talking about Nuance QA - SM

[ In Reply To ..]
They can hear better because the audio they listen with is better. I used to QC for Nuance and that audio was the same as what you hear. If you are talking about post audit or QA, the audio is different and better.

Better audio? - Lauralea

[ In Reply To ..]
How and why is the audio better for QA?

They listen to it through FIESA - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
When you listen to a report after it has been through FIESA, post audit, it's that audio that they use to edit/audit the reports. It's much clearer, at least to my ears.
Incorrect info...we listen to the same audio that you do - current QA
[ In Reply To ..]