A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Abdomen nontender to deep - sound right?

Posted: Mar 21, 2012

palpations <s/l on the floor> ?  Does it sound right or does anyone have any idea what he might be saying? Thanks for any help.

it makes sense if this is an in-hospital exam - hmmm

[ In Reply To ..]
If the physician is examining the patient on the (hospital) floor, it makes sense. Doesn't make good English, but it makes sense.

patient positioned on the floor? - sound right?

[ In Reply To ..]
Do you mean the patient is positioned on the floor? Hard to imagine, but I am new to this! It's an H&P and this is under the PE.

no, no, no - hmmm

[ In Reply To ..]
No, the patient would never been purposely placed on any floor for an examination.

The patient was physically located on/in
1. the medical ward (medical floor) where general care is given.
2. the surgical ward (surgical floor) prior to or just after having had surgery, but not in the operative suite wing of the hospital.

You only know if the answer I gave makes sense if you look for other clues given in the dictation to correlate it with.

Can you give a little more? - jld

[ In Reply To ..]
I just think this is not what they're saying at all even if it sounds like it. If they're speaking really quickly, could be running something together that makes it sound like that. You'd be surprised what it turns out to be when it sounded so clearly like something else.

I've had stuff that might sound that way, and turns out they're saying something like, "Abdomen nontender to deep palpation. There is no organomegaly," and then runs right into another heading that you didn't realize they said, or something about bowel sounds, or something completely different. I've just never heard them say "on the floor" in this context.

If you could tell us what you hear RIGHT after that, it might help, even if it's another heading. Thanks.

Similar Messages: