A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Shorthand macro question - medtrans

Posted: Sep 16, 2013

I am new to Shorthand.  Is there a macro for putting an automatic space after a comma, semicolon, etc.?  I have ones someone else wrote for two spaces after periods.  So far I am not that great at making my own macros. 

I have registered at Productivity Talk and follow the SH forum, but am not allowed to look at the posts I really need.  I get an error message that I don't have permission and the admin hasn't responded back yet.

Shorthand user - this might help

[ In Reply To ..]

I've used SH for 3 years.  I'm not on my home PC right now, so will try to remember by rote.  To make sure I understand, do you want to make just 1 space after a period and a colon?  Like this: There is only one space.  Instead of like this:  There are 2 spaces here.  The same for periods.

Is this what you mean?  If so, I would go to the SH screen to add a new macro.  In the first box, type .  (Two spaces after the period.)

In the phrase box below, type . and 1 space, then save.  The same with colons, semi-colons, and commas. 

Does this help?

Thank you. That's what I needed. - medtrans

[ In Reply To ..]

Happy to help - SH user

[ In Reply To ..]
Great! I'm glad it worked.
Just remember when using it in lab values - not to get 0. 012 or similar NM
[ In Reply To ..]
You will get a period space in the middle of any lab value with a period in it.
Thanks. - medtrans
[ In Reply To ..]
I actually only needed it for commas and semicolons. I just switched over from IT and got used to the automatic spaces.

Similar Messages:

PC SHORTHAND - Make A Macro?
Mar 30, 2013

Hey everyone, I am new to shorthand.  I was hoping someone could help me make a macro.  I am trying to make a macro for ALT+L, D.  I know how to do key control and then pick a key, but staring with ALT has me confused.  I would appreciate any help.  Thank you. ...

Macro Help!!! Please!!!