A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

RMT exam Graduates - Sue

Posted: Sep 08, 2011

I'm currently studying for the RMT exam. I was wondering of those who have taken it and passed, what helpful hints you might have for preparing for this exam? I've got a study guide through ADHI that I'm working through. I'm also going over all the books and terminology flashcards I recieved through At-Home Professions.

Also, how many weeks did you study for this exam? I am hoping to take 4 weeks, but have heard of some who spent six weeks or more preparing.

And, lastly, did you pass on the first try? Is it common to have to take it more than once?

Thanks! I appreciate any feedback.

RMT - Anon

[ In Reply To ..]
It is not the having or not having an RMT that is likely to be a difficulty for you; rather, it will be having At-Home Professions on your resume. Just saying.

RMT - Sue

[ In Reply To ..]
I am hoping that by having the RMT credentials on my resume, it will not matter where I went for training in this field. According to all the literature I've read supporting taking the RMT, employers are looking for those kind of credentials. And that, in itself, will show them that I am up to par with industry standards. As far as At-Home Professions is concerned, I've heard more good than bad. I will assume that all online courses deal with similar criticisms.
The study guides that I have been going through (all endorsed by the ADHI)appear to be covering the same instruction I received through At-Home Professions. I do not like to speak badly of a school, or anything else for that matter, unless I have solid evidence to back that up.

Sue - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]