A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Help been out of school since August and still cannot find a job!!! - Ayashi

Posted: Jun 19, 2012

Hello,

I have been trying to get a job since I graduated last year from Kaplan University Online. I take the online test and fail some how everytime I do it. I have went as far as to screen shot the test in progress just to research the answers ( I found a few mistakes). Yet my main concern is the transcription portion. I can never seem to format it properly. I use my school books and online reference tools and I feel I am still doing something wrong. Now im looking for online help and a corresponence. I need someone who can over look some practice transcriptions and tell me if I have formatted it properly. If not what am I doing wrong.

I really want to break into this field and I will not give up due to a few errors on my end. So the only way to get better is to ask for help and now I ask all of you senior MT's for your knowledge and guidance. Please help and thank-you for all of your time and patience with me as I grow from a new MT to a Pro.

It is probably not formatting errors - that are

[ In Reply To ..]
the problem. Formatting is a tiny issue, not something that will cause an otherwise good test to be failed.

Every account has its own format rules, so employers don't expect applicants to know the rules for specific accounts. You learn that once you're hired and get the samples and normals for the accounts you'll be working on.

You could be failing on grammar or spelling issues (just going by your post) or more likely making too many critical errors on medical terms.

Focusing on improving your transcription skills, grammar, spelling, terminology, etc. would be a better use of your time. Don't worry about formatting as every employer has different rules.