A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Medquist/M*Modal merger - notagain

Posted: Jul 12, 2011

So now Medquist and M*Modal are merging. Wonder what this is going to mean for all of us working for companies that utilize M*Modal. Now I understand why WMX sold out to Nuance. Seems to me no one wants to hire Medquist because of their terrible quality so now they are swallowing up competitors platforms and bullying their way into accounts. They have already stopped allowing other companies to use their DocQScribe platform. Interested to know anyone else's thoughts.

so confusing - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
It's just all so confusing. Maybe WMX was thinking that Nuance was the lesser of 2 evils? I have no experience with Medquist at all so I can't say anything about them. I do type utilizing M*Modal but it does make you wonder what WMX is going to do with their M*Modal now and if WMX after the merger with Nuance will go to using escription.

*EDIT with one more thought* You would think though that WMX would have to use escription then also with Medquist buying M*Modal though, like they would have no choice period about it because now that they bought it did they buy it with only Medquist being able to use it? OR did they buy it so they can sell it to the other companies that currently have it and those other companies now have to pay them to use it?

The word "monopoly" comes to mind when - I read of all this merging! nm

[ In Reply To ..]

so confusion - webber

[ In Reply To ..]
WMX has already informed us that we will not be using M*Modal anymore once the merger is complete and we will be going to the Nuance platform.

oops... so CONFUSING - webber

[ In Reply To ..]
x

i hear ya - anon

[ In Reply To ..]