A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Master Medical Editor - typer

Posted: May 07, 2010

Is it a good move to go into QA or should I stay where I am MT3?

not a good move - fyi

[ In Reply To ..]
Honestly if I could I would go back to being an MT/ME as being an MME sucks more and more money out of my pocket every blessid second that I work. I refuse to lose my benefits so I stay, but I look for new job every single day!!!!

MME - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
Personally, I love being MME. I am definitely making more money than before and I don't get as bored either. The research you do to fill in some of the blanks makes the time fly by quicker. PLUS I never get NJA anymore.

MMEs should not need to be doing research. - They should know. NM

[ In Reply To ..]
NM

MME - Research

[ In Reply To ..]
Oh, please. Nobody knows EVERYTHING! I have been in this business for 26 years, and I am still learning new things.

What? - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
That's very interesting. Obviously, you have never been an MT, or you wouldn't have come out with that statement. What, there are no new drugs coming out, no new surgical equipment, no obscure diseases that one might run into once in a lifetime?
MME - anon
[ In Reply To ..]
That is exactly the problem. MTs out there thinking they shouldn't have to do research. Depending on QA to do it for them. In my opinion, all these changes we are seeing is the MTSOs way of getting rid of those that think that think like that. Yes, we work on production and get paid by the line. However, we are still paid for a finished product. If we have to research sometimes to finish that product correctly, then that is part of the job, QA and MT alike.