A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Whew! By the end of this summer I will be done with MT!!! - jaerae

Posted: Jun 19, 2010

I just accepted a job as an office manager in the medical field.  It took a lot of work to find a good job that did not feel like a step down, but I did it.  There is hope out there folks.  There are people that value the skills and expertise that a medical transcriptionist can bring to a company!  If you are fed up with this field, press on!  There are options out there for us.  

Whew, Through with MT - Silly Rabbit

[ In Reply To ..]
It dawned on me today that medical transcription is no longer an industry, but it's a racket. It's almost impossible for the MT to make a decent living while the higher ups make enormous amounts of money, but there is very little honest about it. Good for you. Your news is encouraging.

Congratulations on your new job and good luck with it - I have been a medical office manager

[ In Reply To ..]
Congratulations on your new job. The rest of my comments are not meant to take away from your excitement about your new job, but more as a warning so you can be prepared, if you've never had that job title with those duties before.

I've never seen a job as a medical office manager that didn't include an enormous amount of stress. I would never do it again. It did pay the bills and if I had no other options I obviously would do it again. Otherwise, no way.

I wish you success and happiness with it. I hope you can do it and still have a life. I also hope you can do it without turning mean. Medical office managers tend to go on power trips. I did until my father had a talk with me and straightened me out.

Me too - and I NEVER had a minute to myself or my family...sm - Been there, too

[ In Reply To ..]