A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Transcription headsets - M.E.

Posted: Nov 25, 2013

I have been transcribing and editing for over 11 years and have ALWAYS used Spectra headsets, but having recently switched jobs where their platform could only be downloaded onto my personal computer and not my work computer, I've found that I'm not getting enough volume with the Spectras. I'm using earbuds right now but they wear out fast so I'm wondering if there are any headset models out there that any of you find to be excellent with clearity and volume, and that aren't going to break my bank account.  Thanks!

Go with music headphones, not transcription headsets - Music headphones are designed better

[ In Reply To ..]
You can find some affordable music headsets at Target, Radio Shack, Walmart, etc. I say use music headphones instead of "transcription" ones because the ones for music are designed to hear every note. For me it made a huge difference. Get the best ones your budget will allow and remember, it's a deductible expense.

transcription headsets - M.E.

[ In Reply To ..]
Thank you. That's what I'm using now, the earbuds, but it's the volume that it more the issue. I guess I'll just buy a better set that maybe has a volume control on it or something. Thanks for the advice.

If volume is the issue - I suggest getting a Boostaroo

[ In Reply To ..]
Boostaroo to go with your headphones. With my Boostaroo, I have to keep the volume turned down to almost no volume at all because it "boosts" the sound. I don't know what I'd do without my Boostaroo.

Similar Messages:

Equipment Headsets, Foot Pedal Etc For Medical Transcription
Oct 22, 2013

I know this question has been asked a million times.  What equipment headset, foot pedal, etc. would be recommended for someone just starting out as a homebased MT? ...

Headsets
Jan 21, 2015