A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Raises???? - Just_wondering

Posted: Jun 28, 2013

I have been working for a compnay since 12/2007.  In that period of time I have worked multiple accounts, learned multiple new software systems and have always gone above and beyond - working over/extra to ensure we stay in our TAT.  In the 5-1/2 years I have been working for them, I have not had a single line rate increase.  Is this the normal? 

Raises? - xx

[ In Reply To ..]
Sad but true, it is the norm. The only increase I ever got was 13 years ago with YOG. I asked for it and got 0.025 cpl raise. After that it's only been decreases for the sake of "being competitive".

Count your blessings your line rate hasn't DECREASED - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Raises usually don't happen. I actually asked a job years ago about a raise and was told they would try to give me more lines so I could type more. Okay, lol, let me work more hours in order to make more money, God forbid they pay a little more.

It seems today though that you are lucky if they don't decrease your line rate, as that seems to be the norm today.

Have you asked? - Just do it!

[ In Reply To ..]
I would probably still be making my initial rate if I hadn't asked for a raise. So, if you haven't asked, you should, especially with all the extra you've taken on and you've proven yourself to be an asset to the company.
:)

I'm as high as I can go with this particular company, so the only "raise" I can give myself now is through working more/harder to increase my line counts.

I think this must be the norm. - (see message)

[ In Reply To ..]
My hospital job was outsourced to DSG a couple years ago, which was then bought out by M-Modal. Up until I went with DSG, I had only ever known working for the hospital where we got annual raises...even if only 3%. As I was at the top of my range, mine was given in one lump sum of 3% of my annual salary.