A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

coding classes through a distance learning program - Aspiring coder

Posted: Aug 01, 2010

I work full-time as an MT and take coding classes through a distance learning progam, I'm about half way through and have just started to learn coding; first inpatient, then outpatient.  My MT job is good now, on-site with plenty of work and good pay, but we are moving to EPIC and VR and job cuts are imminent within the next year or so.  I am thinking ahead to coding jobs, though, and recently applied for a medical records clericial position where a small amount of coding would be involved, it sounds as if it would be checking for missing codes as well as scanning, filing and pulling charts, records release, etc.  I know it would be a big pay cut but I thought that if I could start there maybe I could cross train and do other things such as fill-in for MT or move into billing if I got the opportunity, of course I still don't know if i will get an interview.   I'm jumping ahead, but if I get the chance, do you think it would be a good idea to take the pay cut and get out now?  I'm scared to get laid off from MT and have no job at all. Thanks for your suggestions.

my thoughts - Raine59

[ In Reply To ..]
I'm in the same position as you except my MT pay is falling rapidly and I don't have plenty of work. But I'm wondering if it would be worth taking even more of a pay cut in order to get a job that's a little closer to what I eventually want. I guess it depends on how much of a pay cut and whether the facility in question has a lot of coding positions. I think it's sure worth applying. You can always turn it down if you are offered it but the pay is just too low. Plus you might get some interviewing practice which may help later on. Good luck.

By the way, which certification exam are you planning to take? I'm having trouble deciding.

To Raine59 - Aspiring coder

[ In Reply To ..]