A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Journalist's deadline question on Webmedx and Nuance - sewhidbey

Posted: Sep 13, 2011

Hello:
I am a journalist covering a local public hospital district where transcriptionists have just been outsourced to Webmedx. That company has apparently been bought out by Nuance, and I would like to know more from MTs who have had experience with either company. How does pay compare with a job in a hospital, how much do you make per hour, does Nuance outsource offshore and what can those who work for Nuance expect in the way of job security and benefits.

Though I am requesting personal knowlege here, I would appreciate information that is as objective as possible and would like to quote you in my story. I have a Tuesday noon deadline, Pacific time.

Thank you,
S. E. White
Member, Society of Professional Journalists.

Journalist - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
First of all, I don't think any of us want to be quoted if this is legitimate. I don't know anyone who would be willing to do that. Secondly, how do we know this is legitimate and how can we protect ourselves for giving you information that might be taken in the wrong context? Putting a credential at the end of your name doespn't mean this is for real. I have worked only for WMX, but will not share unless I am certain there will be no repercussions even though I no longer work there.

repercussions - take a chance

[ In Reply To ..]
I completely understand your apprehension but we really need to take a chance on this to try to get some publicity. We cannot continue to fight this on our own. I do not work for either one of these companies, but they are all pretty much the same complaints, low pay, running out of work, working for free, high cost of insurance if any, etc. Our profession has turned into slave labor and we are allowing it.