A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

new to medical transcription-Dragon? - blondie

Posted: Jan 26, 2013

I'm new to medical transcription and thinking about buying Dragon software.  Does it work on wav files from different doctors?  If you have a Mac and MacSpeech could you transfer those files to the Mac and then back to the PC to send back?  I don't want all of my work done through Dragon, I just want it more for clarification and accuracy.  

Thanks!

If you are new - don't mess with VR (sm) - Angie

[ In Reply To ..]
VR is NOT something to rely on for accuracy and clarification! You cannot depend on VR to create an accurate record without an experienced MT/editor checking it. A person new to MT does not have the experience to accurately edit VR. Therefore using it places the patient at high risk for errors that can result in serious risk to their lives. This doesn't even start to go into software conversion and compatibility issues.

Seriously? - djr

[ In Reply To ..]
Is this a real post? Why in the world would you want to go through all that just to get some clarification. Doing something like that will probably just create lots of mistakes (way more than you'd make on your own). I'm truly not trying to be sarcastic, but depend on your own ears and eyes, not on some machine with no critical thinking ability whatsoever.

new to medical transcription-Dragon? - blondie

[ In Reply To ..]
Because I have some hearing loss and I know I would have to edit it but I'm just nervous about my own accuracy. I also have trouble understanding the different accents.
Didn't you feel that way when you first started? I'm just looking different ways to make myself and work better. Don't be so judgmental.

SM - djr

[ In Reply To ..]