Home     Contact Us    
Main Board Job Seeker's Board Job Wanted Board Resume Bank Company Board Word Help M*Modal Nuance New MTs Classifieds Offshore Concerns VR/Speech Recognition Tech Help Coding/Medical Billing
Gab Board Politics Comedy Stop Games Faith Board Prayer Requests Health Issues

ADVERTISEMENT

Main Board

A great new job - and how I did it

Posted: Jun 30th, 2018 - 2:05 pm

Apologies if this is a duplicate. The first one disappeared I think (glad I saved it).

First of all, I tried for years and years to get an "outside" job, with no luck, ever. I have a college degree and was a very well-paid advertising writer and graphic designer before being lured away by MT. I thought all I would have to do to go back to it would be convincing myself to venture out again, maybe even to a large city. 

Then this spring my 20-year MT employer suddenly dumped me, and there I was with one decent-paying but low volume MT IC job, and really low-paying, erratic legal transcription. Enough to pay car and utilities, but not rent, food or anything else. Enough to keep me afloat, barely, while dodging my landlord. 

When a great communications director job fell through (after a month of being jerked around and falling further behind), I hit the panic button. Over a week or two I applied online for every job under the sun, literally anything I thought I was qualified to do. Hospital secretary, healthcare management, nanny, florist labor, courier, writer, proofreader, graphic designer (intern, no less), communications management, telephone liason, legal secretary -- I don't know what all.