A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

A lesson for those who are considering being an MT... - cyn

Posted: May 09, 2010

For almost a year and a half I have been going to a technical school for medical transcription and medical coding and billing. Being an MT was what I wanted to do for a living. I chose the coding and billing because I felt it certainly wouldn't hurt to have depending on where I wound up working.

I have made excellent grades and did well in the various classes I have taken. Overall, it was a very good learning experience.

In a few weeks I'll be finished. It made sense to begin looking for a job. I felt that I had the best of both worlds where I live. There is a large medical community here and the option of working at home was also something I was seriously considering.

I discovered that I was not as educated as I should have been. While I transcribed a wide variety of dictations, learned a great deal about terminology and anatomy, and studied medical office procedures, I have since realized that I missed out on other classes I should have had. Pharmacology is at the top of a list of what I should have studied.

I knew that as a newbie I would have a tough time finding a job, but upon discovering that I did not get nearly the education I should have gotten is a tough pill to swallow. Not only am I in debt for an education that will not get me a job, I am also not going to be able to enter a profession that I believed I was a perfect fit for.

Not only that, I have discovered that the large medical community here outsources 90% of their medical transcription to companies who will only hire experienced MTs. There is 1 job being advertised. Just one.

So, for anyone who is seriously considering becoming an MT here are my words of advice. Make sure the institution is ADHI approve (this one was not) and check into the individual classes the school offers.  Finally, research, research, and do more research.