A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

who is responsible for providing a HIPAA agreement - Inquiring

Posted: Mar 19, 2011

I have been doing MT for over four years now and have been working for other MTSOs. I am now ready to try to get my own contracts and have been doing lots of research, but what I can't seem to find out is who is responsible for providing a HIPAA agreement, me or the doctor (covered entity). I found on the Department of Health & Human Services website some sample contract language, but I'm just not clear if I need to put language in my contract with the doctor to cover this , or if the doctor will have something for me to sign to make sure everything is HIPAA compliant. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Inquiring, if you received advice here, could you depend - on it? You are a pro now. :) Better

[ In Reply To ..]
keep searching until you find a reliable source, then another to double check it. Make a call to tack it down. Good luck with your new enterprise.

You - mt2

[ In Reply To ..]
You would have to have a "security officer" who produces HITECH and HIPAA documents for your business. YOU would be the covered entity.

HIPAA - Kathy Nicholls

[ In Reply To ..]
It will depend on your customer. Many of them have separate business associate agreements that they will want you to sign. I always think it's good to go in with the HIPAA requirements as a part of your normal contract. Your customers will probably also want to be sure you have covered all of your bases with written policies and procedures to show you are compliant, otherwise they may not want to work with you.

Okay, you CAN depend on Kathy's advice, - Better :) nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Why thanks so much! :) nm - Kathy Nicholls

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Thank you! - Inquiring

[ In Reply To ..]
I knew there had to be someone out there who has dealt with this. Thanks so much for your input!

Similar Messages: