A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

The Future of MTs - Is there one? - Student101

Posted: Jan 18, 2014

I am a former MT who is going to school for Health Informatics.  I worked as a transcriptionist for over 20 years.  Two and a half years ago our team was told the organization we worked for was going to voice recognition and our jobs were being phased out which is when I chose to go back to school.  I am writing my final paper on “The Future of Medical Transcription – Is There One?” 

I would like to get information from other transcriptionists on this subject as most of the articles I have come across have been written on the pros and cons of VR from a physician perspective but never anything on VR effects on MTs.  If anyone has time to answer some questions, I would very much appreciate your input! 

1. Years as a transcriptionist
  2. Has your pay increased over the last 10 years, stayed the same or decreased (if you can share amts it will provide better statistics for me)
  3. What is the difference in pay between editing and transcribing from scratch
  4. Are you certified and what is your certification if you are
  5. Why did you choose this occupation and what keeps you in this career

I have been reading on the posts that one transcription company has a required line count set at 110 lines/hour … when I worked for an outsourcing company it was 150 … any comments on this?

Anything else you would like to share Smile

Thanks!

Here you go - Just the facts

[ In Reply To ..]
I have been an MT 25+ years.

May pay has steadily decreased over the last 3 years, $47,000, $38,000, $33,000, and probably about $27,000 next year.

I am paid 9 cpl to transcribe and 5 cpl to edit.

I am not certified.