A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Mush Mouth Pay - TypewhatImeannotwhatIsay

Posted: Aug 11, 2010

I have been typing orthopedics for about 20 years and I think I am pretty good at it.  However, my company recently added on two HORRIBLE mushmouths.  They are not even really ESL, just lazy.  They must dictate with the microphone inside their mouths and one of them smacks his lips constantly.  And his dictation often makes no sense even when I can understand it.  When I worked in house I could do a dictator like this because I would just transcribe out of the patient's chart and my transcription was much better than what he actually dictated.  But working at home I'm stumped.  Most of the time  I can't even understand the name.  I have taken a lot of time with these mushmouths and I am slowly getting better with them but it seems I get stuck with them more and  more and I loose money because I miss out on the better dictators I can zip through.  And they are quick to pay me at a lower rate if my line count falls.  I am tempted to ask for more money for these guys but I desperately need this job right now.  Do you guys think I am a whiner or does it make sense to be paid more for this? 

Also, I have come to believe that sloppy dictators are sloppy doctors.  Sorry, but if you are too lazy and inept to open your mouth all the way and put your thoughts together in an understandable sentence, I don't want you taking care of me.

Sorry, just needed to vent!     

I have what I call "The Tongueless Wonder" - I hear ya

[ In Reply To ..]
This wench's dictation sounds like her tongue is freaking PARALYZED inside of her mouth and she is unable to move it. She might utter a 3- to 4-word string of halfway intelligible words, then right back to being "tongueless."

I think if I ever saw her on the street, I'd staple the tip of her tongue to her nose in appreciation of all of the hours of misery she's bestowed upon me.