A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Looking for suggestions and recommendations on - good online programs.

Posted: Oct 27, 2014

Pros/cons ? Any experience with Career Step, Andrews, etc? TIA

I'm an Andrews grad - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I don't know anything about Career Step, but Andrews was a great choice for me and I have nothing but pros. The instructors are great and available to answer questions. I'm not going to lie - it was a tough program and you definitely have to be disciplined. Hard work does pay off though - I passed both the CPC and the CCS on my first attempts and I am now working as a coder.

If you have any more specific questions, I'd be happy to try to answer them.

Ditto that. - Andrews CCS, CPC

[ In Reply To ..]
Definitely recommend Andrews.

Andrews - Coding grad

[ In Reply To ..]
Also CCS and CPC-H certified upon completion of course. Very thorough, Very tough.

Thank you fall or the information. Can you give an - estimate of how much time weekly

[ In Reply To ..]
you devoted to the course and studying? Your information is so greatly appreciated :-)

Sorry, thank you ALL, not fall. Very LONG day. - Your opinions are appreciated!

[ In Reply To ..]
xx

Depends on you. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I think the estimate is about 15 hours a week to finish in a year, but it might take you less or more. They do not have a fixed "finish by this date" so you can go faster, but I would not plan on taking longer.

If you can plan on finishing in 6 to 8 months, that will be good, because you can do your certification testing in ICD-9 rather than ICD-10, and you will hit the prime time for hiring in anticipation of ICD-10. It will require more staff for the same amount of work, so employers have to hire more coders.