A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Very discouraged about job situation. - Anon

Posted: Jan 26, 2012

I have been in business for 30 years and I have never seen things this bad. I am currently out of work, after having steady work for the last 5 or 6 years. This is new for me and after applying for several companies and no response, I am very discouraged. The companies say they are bogged down with applications and not able to reply to everyone. I feel for all you out there who are out of work now. God help us all. I guess all we can do is pray for a miracle at this point.

That makes two of us. I have 30 years' experience, - have been applying for 3 years, -sm

[ In Reply To ..]
and in all that time, have only had 1 interview (didn't get the job - was told I 'didn't have enough experience!'), and 1 callback. The rest? ZILCH.

I think the companies that don't reply are only answering applications from a small MT demographic: Those with 2-5 years' experience, and who are willing to work graveyard shift - for FREE.

Very sad -- I feel for you. - Suzy Q

[ In Reply To ..]
Well I have only just started applying in the last 2 weeks. I was laid off on 01/15/2012 after working hard for 3 years for what used to be a good company.

Wish you all the luck in the world. Things have to change sooner or later.

Totally can tell you that's not the case - mt2

[ In Reply To ..]
I have 30+ years experience and have never had a problem getting a call back and getting hired. In many instances, I find reasons for some of these companies not working for me, but I've always been able to find work. I don't know if those of you who can't get a call back don't have the experience (I understand having done this for 30 years but done what exactly?) I also won't take a job for less than 7 -- and 7 is low but I can still make a nice salary with that. (However, the 2 companies I work for right now pay me 9 and 7.5 for VR).