A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

New MT thinking of career change... - cyn

Posted: Jan 29, 2012

I have been working at an OBGYN office for 10 months now and for reasons I'd rather not get into, I am having issues with my MT supervisor.

I love MT work. I do feel it is the right niche for me. However, my LPH is under 100 and I do not feel that I am getting enough work to improve my speed. I am still new and still learning.

I'm starting to wonder if I might be better off setting up a home office and trying to get on with a company like Medquist or something.

I am getting paid on the low end of MT's right now. I did not attend a school that does SUM. I was very lucky in getting this position, but because of an insurance change with the corporation I work for, we lost a huge amount of patients. The work is not what it once was.

If I moved to work at home, could I get work with my level of experience? Would I have enough work to keep me busy throughout the day? Would I make more than $10 an hour?

Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks all!

$10 an hour - I do

[ In Reply To ..]
$10 an hour is probably considered excellent these days. That is about what I make and I have been doing this 37 years. and now they are lowering our cpl because we are changing to VR and that will bring that $10 down much lower. If you need $10 an hour, this may not be the career for you. Lots of companies are running out of work again.

Maybe a brand new MT makes $10 an hour - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
If you make $10 and you've been an MT more than a year or two, you're in the wrong business. Find something you're good at. Not everyone is good at MT but everything thinks they are, 'have been' or could be, even if they can't type, spell, or haven't been trained adequately. Lots of people do very well, and $10/hr cannot be considered doing well unless you are a new MT.

Per hour - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]