A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

experiences with DIT transcription ? - Diana

Posted: May 28, 2010

Hi, I am new to this internet typing transcription at home too and am finding it daunting and complicated.  Can anyone tell me about their experiences with DIT transcription ?  I was supposed to start on June 14, 2010 with them but now I do not know if they do not pay and are not realiable to work for?  They were willing to hire me?  What kind of dictation is it? Is it foreign dictators, I too wanted to get a phrase expander but at 5 cents a line, have to type 2000 lines to make 50 bucks, is that correct?  I might be wasting my time.  Does any one know of any transcriber company to pay by the hour online.?  I have not transcribed for 4 years and one company would not even look at me with 20 years experience even because I have not typed in last 3 years.  Can some one write me with their experiences.  Also, I am enrolled in transcription course through Home Professionals out of Fort Collins Colorado to get my 2nd degree in transcription so someone will hire me.  Has anyone gone through this course.  For what I paid they could at least have given me online software stedmans dictationary spell checke instead of a paper 20 dollar book.  Help, I am getting really discouraged.

I took a job with them - silversunchristina

[ In Reply To ..]
I too had heard that they didn't pay. I figured if nothing else, I could get some experience to take elsewhere. I've done my homework...they have a B rating with the BBB. That can't be all bad. They say it takes six weeks to get your first paycheck after you turn in your first pay file. It hasn't been six weeks for me, so I guess we'll see if the check comes. :)
As far as the dictators go, I've transcribed for three clinics and maybe a dozen doctors, and they all speak great English. I have yet to encounter an ESL doc.