A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Speaker Settings - Jackie

Posted: Jul 27, 2011

I am just starting out in transcription and I am needing help on how to set my speakers in order to hear better.  I currently have my bass down and my treble up but is there anything else I can do cause when the doctors get to talking really fast and running their  words together it is hard to make any sense of it at all

Speaker Settings - Kat

[ In Reply To ..]
That is something that you have to figure out, but one thing that is part of learning to be a good transcriptionist includes being able to hear the dr's better, which includes speeding them up, slowing them down, turning the volume up and down, sometimes very all of them often. Also backing up the speech, sometimes it will land on a word just right and you will be able to finally hear what it was. You have to keep adjusting things to see what helps. Sometimes slowing them way down and turning the volume down will help you hear them, then other times turning that volume up will help, you just have to experiment to see which helps you hear them better.

Another Jackie? - Jackie

[ In Reply To ..]
Welcome to the field. I've been at this for 20+ years. It's a different world now.

It threw me when I saw myself asking for help here. :)

Using headphones will help a lot - sm - Zorro

[ In Reply To ..]