A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

What the public knows.... - sz

Posted: Dec 12, 2009

I completely agree that the public needs to be informed of where their medical records are going.  But do you know that in my 10 years of MTing, most people I have encountered, asking what I do for a living, are not even aware of what the medical record is?  I've had to explain what it is more times than not.  They have no idea that there are reports being made for every doctor visit or procedure they undergo.  I guess they believe that all that is recorded is what is chicken-scratched by the doctor in their "chart" and the occasional lab report added to it is all that is done as far as their records are concerned.  This, I believe, is half the problem as far as the lack of public outrage regarding offshoring.   The public needs to be made aware of what the actual medical record is first, and then hit them with the offshoring bombshell.   I've told them if nothing else, the next time they visit their doctor, to request that their medical records stay in the U.S.  Put in in writing to the doctor if necessary.  I have also started circulating emails to everyone I know informing them of all of this, asking them to forward this to everyone they know, etc.    We all need to start talking, and not just on these MT boards, because lets face it, the general public doesn't read the MT boards. 

Excellent post - Tina

[ In Reply To ..]
and I couldn't agree more!

I fantasize about taking a full-page out in every - kiki

[ In Reply To ..]
major newspaper with the title, "My medical record information is in India--Do you know where YOURS is?"

Having that the title of a news TV show would be a double fantasy........

Having it on Oprah would be beyond belief........

I think there's a HUGE story in this whole situation -SM - Zircon

[ In Reply To ..]