A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Incompetent MT - frustratedMT

Posted: Aug 15, 2012

I always felt I was good MT until I went to work here. Never had any complaints. Now, constant bad scores from QA and working my butt off to do a good job. I have been a transcriptionist for  20 years and worked for many companies including hospitals and this is about as bad as it can get. Maybe should try a new field, but at my age, not sure I can.

If it helps, you aren't alone - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I have been doing this for 15+ years and always had fantastic QA scores and praise from QA. I also worked QA for 2 different companies and always did well on my scores with that as well.

Suddenly I get a job at Nuance and get scores lower than when I was first starting as an MT??? Of course, they aren't "real" mistakes, it is always commas or not adding "the" or "he/she." It is beyond frustrating to get a 1.0 error score for not putting "he" when it is implied and unecessary. When I was QA we reserved 1.0 errors for big omissions, not pronouns. We also never gave "double" errors when an MT missed the same word or phrase in a document, it was counted as only 1 error, but not Nuance, oh heck no. If they could get you down to a negative score on a report they would do it.

You know QA/QC at Nuance are apparently not eligible for bonuses themselves, so maybe the jerk QAs who are doing this are just ticked and want to make sure no one gets a bonus since they can't. More a personal vendetta by a petty person than a consipiracy by the company.

Overall I have no problem with Nuance but QA/QC is pretty close to a deal breaker for me.

Same boat here, different company. I've been - an MT since 1975, in all sorts - sm

[ In Reply To ..]