A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How to work IC and Ref Materials - Kaitemae

Posted: May 23, 2011

I have a couple of questions. For those of you who work IC, do you think it's better to get an EIN number, or not?  Also, what Medical Acronyms, Eponyms, and Abbr. reference book do you recommend?

Thanks!

Personally, I have all of the Stedman's Word - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Books, from my point of view they are the best on the market. If you are in a specialty, you should get that specialty, the medical & surgical equipment word book is invaluable and worth the money. As for an EIN, I don't have one, but I also work as an employee full-time and the IC job is my part-time job.

Stedman's - izzy

[ In Reply To ..]
I agree, Stedman's has the best line of reference material out there.

As for having an EIN #, I personally think it's best to have your own business rather than being a sole-proprietor. In my opinion, it makes you more accountable for the monies coming in. As a sole-proprietor, once you get paid, that money gets spent, it's easy to forget to set aside at least 28% to pay your quarterly taxes. Having your own business set up you would draw paychecks and pay those taxes as you go. It's much easier but you have to be diligent in your book keeping.

I almost agree with you but I think you can do better than Steadmans in some cases - if you select carefully

[ In Reply To ..]
There are better resources if you have the time to choose, for example, the very best option for medical abbreviations, or the very best resource for pathology, etc. Steadman's makes it easy and fast, which is great, but you can do better if you work at it. That said, nothing wrong with fast and easy.

Izzy - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]