A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Trouble testing!! I need help! - Liz

Posted: Jun 22, 2010

I have 12 years experience working as an IC medical transcriptionist. I just got laid-off and now I find myself testing w/ different companies and I can't pass the typing portion of the test for some reason!!! It's driving me crazy. I have been using my AAMT Book of Style for formatting and I have been studying the basic rules of transcription. Can anybody help me w/ this?? What are these companies looking for and what possibly could I be doing wrong? All I can think of is that I'm formatting the document incorrectly. If anyone has samples they could send me, I would appreciate it. I have been going over the documents making sure there is no punctuation errors, spelling, etc., and the only thing I can think of that I'm doing incorrectly is formatting. Any advice would be so much appreciated!! Thank you in advance. Liz

Trouble testing - onewhoknows

[ In Reply To ..]
believe it or not, it probably isn't that your test is bad. It is probably very good. I am sorry to say it is your 12 years of experience. They don't want to pay anyone with a lot of experience. Once on an interview, a recruiter even said if they see too much experience they think the person might be an MT Diva. I can't believe it, but it is true. So, don't worry. It probably isn't you it is them. And if for some reason they did hire you and you were treated poorly you wouldn't want to be with them anyway. These companies want new MTs they can train to jump through hoops and get paid minimum wage. Please don't think it is you. And once you get formatting samples and know your work is perfect, how will yo ufeel when you don't pass then? Trust your instinct and keep looking. Someone will value your years and those are the people who you will want to work for and the place for you. Good luck. Keep chin up!

You might be right - RLee

[ In Reply To ..]