A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Any Transcription Services hire people with a record? - justcurious

Posted: Dec 05, 2014

I have been doing transcription for 15 years.  My youngest daughter got into some trouble as a teen and has a record.  She is having a hard time finding work in our rural community.  I could probably train her at home to be a transcriptionist and help her, but just curious if anyone knows if any of the companies hire someone with a felony?  Thanks for any input :)  If you have any other ideas, it would be great.  FYI, she also has bipolar type 1, so working at home would be better for her.  

Thanks again :)

Reply - ST

[ In Reply To ..]
1. You can't train your daughter to be an MT. She'll never get a job that way. She needs to be trained by a reputable school. The only school I recommend is Andrews.
2. I really, really advise against anyone getting into this profession. Yes, we get to work at home but the industry is changing, the pay is not what it used to be, and likely it won't be around for another 20 years, or at least it will look very different from how it looks now.
3. Medical coding might be worth looking into. I believe Andrews trains for that too, and they are the only school in this industry I would recommend.
4. I don't know if they'd hire someone with a record. On the one hand, she'd be working from home (MT or coder), but on the other hand she would be trusted with sensitive material involving patients. I guess it would depend upon the employer.
5. I get why you would feel more comfortable with her working from home with bipolar disorder. On the other hand, getting out of the house and having some social interaction would be very good for her mentally.

reply to st - justcurious

[ In Reply To ..]