A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Account Ending, Starting to Look Around - Pollywog

Posted: Feb 14, 2013

Well, another job bites the dust! After working for the same MTSO for 5 years, she just notified us that our job will be ending at the end of the month.  The hospital did not renew our contract and signed with M Modal instead.  The same exact thing happened to me after working for another MTSO for four years prior to this one.  All the little guys are getting swallowed up by the big nationals, it seems.  

So, now I get to search for another job (sigh).  I've got 8+ years experience in acute care, mostly on ChartScript platform.  I have always worked as an IC but am considering working as an employee because I'd like to have some benefits.  I was making 10.5 cents a line and 12 cents on weekends as an IC but had to pay my own taxes and had no benefits.  I realize that this line rate is basically unheard of anymore, but I was hoping maybe some of you could privately email me and let me know about the compensation, benefits, bonuses, work environment etc. where you're working now because I have no idea where I should start applying.  And, if anyone works for a smaller company that does not outsource (are there any of those left?), I'd really appreciate hearing from you.  

I have never done any work with voice recognition, either, but would be willing to learn.  If anyone can share their experience with VR versus straight typing, I'd love to hear from you!  I am good with grammar and proofing and thought this might be an avenue for me to explore.  Any suggestions as to which companies offer training and decent compensation in VR would be greatly appreciated.

M Modal has offered to hire us there and I have filled out the application.  I would also appreciate some objective opinions about that company.