A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Have you noticed all the IC transcription jobs - MT

Posted: Jun 18, 2015

wanting you to give them a set schedule during set hours and days? Also, how many hours you have to do during those set times? Is that what IC is nowadays? I see the benefit for them, but where's the benefit for me? Am I missing something?

IC - MT2

[ In Reply To ..]
By law, if you are an IC and fill out a 1099 form, they cannot ask you to have a set schedule. I work as an IC and my company only asks for a minimum number of lines (which is a very, very reasonable number), but I make my own hours and work whenever I want. If a company is trying to make you a 1099 IC, then they cannot make you adhere to a schedule.

That's what I thought, but that's what they are - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
advertising their position as IC for. So they get all the benefits of IC and the person applying, if they don't know any better, are getting the shaft. Might as well be an employee so you get benefits then. What a deal! Is nobody honest in this profession anymore?

They are taking a HUGE risk - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
If they get reported and are investigated by the IRS, the IC will get all back pay/employee benefits PLUS interest (for example, withholding taxes) due them for the misclassification and the company will be fined.
How far back can you go? - see msg.
[ In Reply To ..]
I worked as an IC for 2 companies and had to have set hours. When my mom was dying, I was given a hard time because I cut my hours until her passing which was only a few weeks.
ic - nm
[ In Reply To ..]
go to IRS.gov and read what the definition of an IC is...most of these companies have no idea. They should all be reported. Luckily I work for one now who knows the rules...

They can only allow you to work certain hours - see message

[ In Reply To ..]