A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I have not worked in 6 years, and only have 3 months experience, is there hope in finding a Medical - Crissy

Posted: Jul 05, 2012

I graduated from a local Technical College with a Certificate in Medical Transcription. I had spent a year searching for a company that would hire someone new, but had no luck. Then, out of the blue a local company had seen my resume and offered me a job. I got the job, but the thing was I was almost 7 months pregnant with my second child! I had only worked a couple months until our baby was born and after consideration, decided not to come back so I could be with our baby full-time. Well, it has been 6 years and our baby is now going to school. I have been searching for Medical Transcriptionist jobs online and I am not having any luck because I don't have even a year of experience. I am also worried that I have been out of work too long to be considered. Working for the same company is also not an option because they never have any openings and are laying off a lot of their employees.

Is there any hope of finding a Medical Transcriptionist job, or should I just give up? I thought about taking MT classes again, but my husband says it's a "nonexistent" job anyway.

Any thoughts?

My opinion - Dickens

[ In Reply To ..]
I think you could find companies that are willing to hire new transcriptionist (that's *kind of* where you fall). There was an ad here on MT Stars not too long ago that was specifically looking for new transcriptionists. The caveat is that the pay likely will be very low, but you can work your way up them, if you don't want to take a refresher class.

I have not worked in 6 years, and only have 3 months experience, is there hope in finding a Medical - MT2011

[ In Reply To ..]