A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

bad attitudes - old timer

Posted: Mar 08, 2010

Being around people who do nothing but complain tends to make me *****.  Sorry.  But noone here is either giving advice or asking for it.  I actually have given you quite a bit of good advice.  

I didn't tell anyone to pretend MedQuist is anything other than it is -- a large corporate entity, not a caring person.  

What I have said is that being passive and whining is not constructive.  

I'm in the same boat you all are in, so don't tell me I don't know anything about your situation.  I know everything about your job situation that I need to, because I am in the same situation.

The difference is I am a cancer survivor and I don't believe in being passive.  I believe in taking control of matters rather than letting things control me.  I am an expert on self-pity having engaged enormously in it myself.  That's why I recognize it in almost everyone here.  There is sadness, anger, despair.  

What are you gonna do?  Give up.  Just be miserable and continue plugging along for MQ?  Don't tell me I haven't given you positive suggestions.  I even told you where you could get another job without giving up DocQscribe.  

Most of you don't have ears to hear what I have said, and I get really, really bitchy when grown women act like kids.  

MedQuist is what it is.  First of all, a job -- with benefits.  If you cavalierly think that is nothing, you are really insensitive to the people who cannot get a job, who are losing their homes and possessions.  Shame on you!

I've let you in on what apparently is a big secret on this board.  You don't have to go broke or be defeated by MedQuist.  Most of my friends in MQ are in fact happy with their jobs.  None of us thinks it is perfect.  None of us approves of the new policy to pay you less when you send in too much QA.