A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Online universities for coding? - researching

Posted: May 07, 2010

I have found at least 5 dozen on line colleges for medical coding and I can find Pros and Cons for all. 

Just wondering if there were any students here currently utilizing on line colleges or programs for medical coding, or if anyone has any experiencing completing one.

Thanks!

Try your local community college - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I have no experience in online companies, but I find that local community colleges usally do a good job training for MT/coding type professions, usually have at least most if not all classes online, and accept PELL grants (free money)

career step, AIU, Kaplan, University of Phoenix - Colleges on Line

[ In Reply To ..]
try these they have great programs

Similar Messages:

Which Online Coding Program
Aug 17, 2010

How does one know which online coding program to take when they all seem pretty good, besides the price difference? I specifically want to know about AHIMA or Career Step from someone who has graduated and found a job. I know they have testimonials on their website, but how does one really know?  I was thinking about either their program or the one from AHIMA, which seems a lot longer, but apparently with either you will be able to sit for the credentialing exam, and they seem to be close in ...

Can You Take Online Classes For Coding?
Dec 20, 2010

I'm new to this board so bear with me.  Having been a MT forever it seems, I'm thinking of making a switch to coding. At one point I was even hired as an entry level coder, learning on the job, but when i position came open in transcription took that as it paid better. In hindsight wish I had stuck with the coding as then could have gone either or even both ways.  My problem would be having to actually "go" to a school in person , but i would want something reputable, not som ...

How To Pick An Online Coding Course
May 08, 2011