A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Instant Text - Word glossary productive for you? - siren

Posted: Jan 07, 2010

Hi everybody, I have been utilizing Instant Text for about 6 months now, which has helped my production. However, I know there are many things I can do to update, improve my Instant Text glossaries.  I really do not use the Word glossary because I found that it was hard for me to look at both glossaries at the same time.  I mainly use the phrase glossary.  For Instant Text users, here are some of my questions: 1.  I mainly transcribe ED reports.  Do you think it is more productive to have one big glossary for this work type, or since my physicians do say things a little differently, to have separate glossaries for each physician? 2.  Do you find using the Word glossary productive for you?  If so, what sort of things do you have in your Word glossary? If you want you could e-mail me with your answers or suggestions.  I am trying to start the new year off right to be more productive throughout the year. Thank you all so much!    

I only like to look at the phrases side, too. SM - IT fan

[ In Reply To ..]
I have an Include glossary with single words on the phrases side. The full word is the short form. I rarely type out a full word that is 5 or more letters. The only difference from the Words side is that you have to type the first two letters instead of only one and then you can skip letters to bring up the word with the jump ahead feature. I found a little program on Productivity Talk that converts a list of words to the phrases side. You can do a search for the program, which is called ABCreate.

Thank you IT fan - siren

[ In Reply To ..]