A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Internship? - h20fall30

Posted: Nov 19, 2009

I am a new grad, and was wondering how to go about finding an internship? I know AHDI has one, but you must be an RMT. I, in no way, feel comfortable sitting for that test yet! LOL... I googled and found only 1, but they want you to pay them. Anyone have any ideas? Any advice would be much appreicated!

Happy holidays to all! (Wow, seems funny to be saying that already. ) =)

internship - wondering

[ In Reply To ..]
Did you school not help you with this?

internship - wondering - h20fall30

[ In Reply To ..]
No, the college I went to, which is on AHDI's list of approved schools, does not offer any internships. Thus, why I am here seeking advice. Thanks =)

internships - int

[ In Reply To ..]
Being accepted into an internship means working for free for several months after having paid an internship fee.
After going successfully through the program with a consistent, at least 98%, accuracy on live reports dictated by real physicians, you receive, usually, a reference letter, no guaranteed job placement.

internships - int - h20fall30

[ In Reply To ..]
Thank you, for the information. I was aware of all that. I know there is no guarantee. I don't mind working for free, as long as I can gain more experience. I was just wondering if, there are internships that have no fee? I guess, my main concern, is that it is not a scam that they charge for the internship. Is it the norm? Sorry, I am new to all this. Thanks again, for your imput and advice! =)

YW. Long time ago there were MTSOs and schools that offered...sm - int

[ In Reply To ..]
free and/or even paid internships, but, as far as I know, not anymore.
Also, nowadays, it is very difficult to get into an internship program, as a lot of newly graduates sign up for internships and there is a substantial backlog.
Schools usualy offer their internship only to their graduates.