A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Anything Positive? - newbieStudent

Posted: Dec 31, 2012

I'm currently a student with a nearing graduation date. I'm getting quite discouraged lately because from what I have been researching and finding on forums is that basically there is not enough work out there to make ends meet. I've seen alot of negative posts from current MTs and it makes me nervous since I have yet to graduate. Is there anything positive out there for a student like me to look forward to??

What school are you graduating from? - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Anything Positive? - newbieStudent

[ In Reply To ..]
MTEC

MTEC - Has a good reputation

[ In Reply To ..]
Being an MTEC grad, you should be able to find a company that will test you. Andrews and MTEC have very good reputations and companies know the name.

Glad you chose a good school.
MTEC - Old Pro
[ In Reply To ..]
It is a good school and you chose wisely. It is not the school that is the problem--it is the economy.

Yes, lots of work here and pay is good - ssmt

[ In Reply To ..]
I do not understand all the negative posts here. There is plenty of work in my area, and we are desperately short on transcriptionists. Pay range depends: Local companies pay up to 10-16 cpl, nationals up to 9 cpl that I know of, and physicians offices and or hospital in-house positions are available. When you obtain some experience, you can obtain your own clients and make more. Good luck!

Even after you graduate, you will need to go through some sort of mentoring (paid of course) or internship. You will always be learning. School just covers the small basics.

Grain of salt. - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I am not sure of the motivation of ssmt, but her experience is really not the norm. She has been posting ALL over this board today and yesterday. Perhaps she runs an MT school or something.