A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

A little encouragement for the new - Yearbie

Posted: Apr 01, 2010

So I graduated in January of 09, it is March of 10 now. I have applied and tested with SEVERAL companies to no avail. Today I just received a mail to interview at the hospital where I did my externship for an MT position. The recruiter told me that I am her first choice out of the gate since I did a good job and I got such a good reference from the woman who supervised me during that time. I don't have the job yet and something may happen who knows, but here is my encouragement. Do not get discouraged although trust me I have had my share of disappointments with this field. My friend I met while in college landed her first job right out of school and still works there. It was her externship site as well. I would like to place a strong emphasis on doing well at your externship site. Be the absolute best person you can be and take in everything they give you. Make friends and network because I have talked with several MT's and that is where they have gotten their start. I have no doubts I would have already been working there had they not downsized the whole department a year ago. Now this is not the gospel just my observation. Point that I am trying to make is that some get hired right out of school, some don't. Some have to complete rigorous testing some don't. It is all a learning process and if you are truly aspiring to be an MT and make it don't get discouraged. It will come. I will post back and let you know if I actually got the job or not. Take care all.

encouragement for the new - Rene

[ In Reply To ..]
I am so happy for you!! I'll keep you in my prayers that all goes well for you!! Rene

Thank you - IYearbie

[ In Reply To ..]
I appreciate it.

Yearbie - AV

[ In Reply To ..]