A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

My job was eliminated - redmaj

Posted: Aug 16, 2013

Well, I just got a call and my job has been eliminated due to lack of work.  I am part-time flex (because of medical issues). Yes, I have had NO WORK for weeks or more, but the strange thing is the last few days, I have had work no matter what time I clock on.  I have been getting new hospitals (or rather new to me, not sure if new to MModal), and I thought COOL.  Well, just got a call from my supervisor that my position (part time flex) has been eliminated due to no work.  Kind of sucks since today I thought "cool, more work, more hospitals".  Oh well.  I kind of didnt believe it after reading posts on MT Stars about lay offs, etc.  My supervisor told me if anything changes I can be re-hired.  I dont think so.  It is just weird that I am getting all this work the past few days, and now my job was eliminated.  I have over 30 years experience, RARELY get anything from QA-not bragging, but after this much experience I can transcribe in my sleep.

Anyway, not sure what I will do now.  Maybe be a Zumba instructor!  Probably will make as much as I have here the past 6 months.  I am kind of bummed about it.  I still think they have offshored most of the work. 

job eliminated - Day2 Termination

[ In Reply To ..]
Sorry to hear. I know how you feel. Got my call yesterday morning. Felt weird not working today and tomorrow will be even stranger. Have been working weekends for the past 25 years. I can't shake the anxiety even though I am financially okay, thank God. Been keeping busy doing the usual things I do when I wasn't working and I do love the time, but it's a bummer no matter. We will adjust.

I was let go 3-1/2 weeks ago. - Finding the new normal.

[ In Reply To ..]