A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Decrease in pay!!!! - So Tired

Posted: Feb 28, 2010

Has anyone received a raise lately from MedQuist? I've been working for Medquist for 9 years. I was roped into becoming a medical editor 4 years ago with the promise of making more money because I wouldn't be typing. They told me that I would be 80% of my base MT pay....then 1 year later they decreased it to 70% of base pay and then now 60% of my base pay. When I complained about this to my supervisor, she said that she was told that Medquist was going to somehow update the software with new changes so we would have higher productivity, but I haven't seen any....anyone else??  I found an old paystub from 2006 and I'm making 1/2 now what I was making then....I almost got sick!! The only reason I have kept this job is because I have a disabled son and need the flexibility of my hours otherwise, I'd be gone....how do they keep employees or do they?

A lot of us have taken a decrease in pay - whether we work for Medquist or not

[ In Reply To ..]
What is most interesting is that you are using your son as an excuse to stay with Medquist. There are other companies out there.

I feel bad for your son, but if you are able to stay home and care for him, then consider yourself blessed and focus on him. No matter where you go, the pay is awful and it is a combination of physicians going with large MTSOs, so the work gets done and they need not pay out vacation time, sick time, etc. They also are provided with 24-hour turnaround most of the time, which as a sole independent contractor is hard to beat when you are also doing administrative tasks, let alone hiring subcontractors at a cut rate that you then have to review the reports before being sent.

You have to see this from all sides, not just the money. Convenience is a big factor in this industry right now, and these MTSOs know it.