A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Is there any point working MT anymore? - mommacat

Posted: Jan 22, 2012

I am so frustrated making pennies on reports.  I worked 30+ hours and got $176.  Who can live on that?? I want to be home with my kids but I am wondering if this is worth it anymore.

Cat

I've finally given up just this week (sm) - CMTx2

[ In Reply To ..]

MT to coder here also - anne

[ In Reply To ..]
After over 20 years as CMT, and I was previously an RN, I have thrown in the towel. I have gone to job fairs and tried and have been told I can't get back into nursing, my experience is too long ago. I tried to stay positive about MT, I learned the editing, all of the shortcuts with editing, I flexed, worked extra whenever I could, kept my skills up, and I am pretty fast. Still, my pay has just been on a downward spiral (I was with WMX, bought out by Nuance, don't even ask what a horrible experience this has been). I started coding school the beginning of this month. I love it so far! I think I could really love this profession also, and I want to work in house at this point, hoping to get a hospital job. Good luck to all, we all have to make the best decisions for what works for US. If I still needed to be home with children at home, I might be making a different choice. The coding board here is pretty good!

Great news! What is the name of your coding school? (nm) - CMTx2

[ In Reply To ..]
x
coding school Andrews - anne
[ In Reply To ..]
There is a welcome board, and there are a LOT of MTs making the switch at Andrews!

Medical Coding - JW

[ In Reply To ..]
Coders don't make as much as they used to either.
Where did you get that information? - Coder
[ In Reply To ..]
The last salary survey I saw indicated that salaries were continung to rise in spite of the state of the economy.

I have not seen ANY salaries drop

So on what are you basing your comment?
Where did you get the information - JW
[ In Reply To ..]