A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How to get acute care experience from home - Frustrated and job hunting

Posted: Oct 25, 2013

I am looking for work, have 3+ years experience in different clinics (family practice, OB/GYN, ortho, PT, etc...) but no acute care experience.....since I have no acute care experience I cannot find work! This is so darn frustrating. I went through this when I graduated with my AS in Medical Transcription....how do they expect you to get experience if no one will hire you!!....gripe over I guess...lol

Reply to your post - older than dirt

[ In Reply To ..]
You sound like you are relatively "new" to the field since you have a little of 3 years experience under your belt. The problem that you have run into is just limiting yourself to clinic work. MTs do not have the time to train and hand hold MTs when they have limited experience. Secondly, an AS degree in Medical Transcription doesn't mean diddly squat to employers.

I have been in this field for 33 years. I learned MT on the job, and was probably a "pioneer" with the working from home concept. I have been looking for work as an acute care MT since July and no luck. I am hoping to have a new business concept up and running within the next 2 months and be out of this field entirely.

As a relatively new MT also with only 3 years experience under your belt, you should have seen the direction that MT was heading. I like so many others, will probably suggest that you head down a different career path all together.

JMHO

older thinks she's smarter than dirt - office girl now

[ In Reply To ..]